Treasurer and Comptroller: Revolutionary War Pay Vouchers


The Treasurer and Comptrollers' Revolutionary War Pay Vouchers consist of vouchers and certificates issued in lieu of cash for military service or for supplies furnished to the army. Typically, a voucher will show the name of the payee, number of the certificate, and the amount due. It may also give the date of issuance and the fiscal district or county in which issued. Certificates issued in payment for supplies or provisions may specify the material furnished. When a voucher was redeemed, it was cancelled by punching a hole through it. The issuance and redemption of certificates are recorded in the Revolutionary Army Account Books.

These records are available on (free with an account).



Military District Information:




Edenton DistrictBertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Gates, Hertford, Pasquotank, Perquimans, and Tyrrell




Halifax District–Edgecombe, Franklin, Halifax, Martin, NASH, Northampton, and Warren




Hillsborough District–Caswell, Chatham, Granville, Orange, Randolph, and Wake




New Bern District–Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Dobbs, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Pitt, and Wayne




Wilmington District–Bladen, Brunswick, Cumberland, Duplin, New Hanover, and Onslow




Salisbury DistrictAnson, Burke, Guilford, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Richmond, Rowan, Rutherford, Sullivan, Surry, Washington, and Wilkes




In 1782, Burke, Lincoln, Rutherford, Sullivan, Washington, and Wilkes were placed in a new Morgan District. Although Sullivan and Washington were a part of Morgan District until 1784, they were assigned separate auditors.  Finally, in 1784, Washington District was formed to include Davidson, Greene, Sullivan, and Washington counties (Tennessee).